Showing posts with label ghost. Show all posts
Showing posts with label ghost. Show all posts

Thursday, May 18, 2017

An Evil Presence in Georgia

Old Chatham jail
The Old Chatham County jail in Savannah, Georgia is so haunted people are actually encouraged not to visit.

This jail established in 1737, housed 300 prisoners in its 250 plus year history. It was closed in 1989 in order to move the inmates to a larger facility.

The county then used the building to store city archives. It was at this point city employees began to report strange activity.

These witnesses reported hearing footsteps and voices without known sources. Several stated they felt they were being watched constantly.

They reported being touched, pushed and even thrown against walls by an unseen force.

Paranormal researchers were called in. These groups collected videos of ghostly figures, frightening EVPs and a variety of Poltergeist activity. One group witnessed a 150-pound metal plate fly across the room they were standing in. This plate hit the opposite wall with such force it marred it.

One cell in the old building is more active than any other location. It is believed to house the malevolent spirit of Carl Isaacs.

Carl Isaacs Jr.
Isaacs escaped from a Maryland jail in 1973. He and his two brothers headed to Florida in hopes Carl would not be re-captured. They ran out of gas in Georgia and landed at a dry station.

Isaacs and his brothers decided to rob a trailer home that sat in the back of this station. But the Alday family who lived there interrupted their burglary.

Isaacs held the five male members of the family at gunpoint. He and his brothers shot and killed them. They then raped and shot Mary Alday and dumped her body in the woods.

A few days later Isaacs was arrested, he still had the murder weapons in his possession. These murders are still considered some of the worst in Georgia history.

Carl Isaacs was put in Chatham County jail where he sat on death row for years. Since his death his ghost has terrified witnesses.

Paranormal investigators report an overwhelming sense of dread while they were in his cell. They state that afterwards this feeling is hard to shake.

This oppressive energy is considered evil in nature. These investigators experiences have dictated who is allowed to tour this old jail. Paranormal teams are allowed in but others who apply are turned away.


I recently heard this building has been demolished. Will the activity now stop?

Here is a short segment one TV show did about this haunting.

Monday, January 16, 2017

Wolf Creek Inn

Wolf Creek Inn
This inn was originally called the “Wolf Creek Tavern” when it opened in the 1880s. It is the oldest continuously operated inn in the Pacific Northwest.

In its heyday, it serviced weary travelers that made the 16-day journey north from San Francisco to Portland, Oregon.

Jack London is said to have finished his story Valley of the Moon while staying at Wolf Creek in the summer of 1911. He is one of the spirits that have been seen and heard in the inn since his death in 1916.



In later years, Mary Pickford and Douglas Fairbanks stayed at Wolf Creek. Clark Gable, his wife Carol Lombard and Orson Wells also stayed at the inn. John Wayne rented a room while he filmed Rooster Cogburn

The inn today has a variety of spirits that still make appearances. One favorite ghost story is about a stagecoach driver named, One-Eyed Charlie Parkhurst. During the Gold Rush years Charlie was known to be one of the toughest drivers along the northern route.

Stagecoach Drivers
Quotes about Charlie include: “He drove his team hard, cussed up a storm and spat tobacco juice harder than anyone else.”

Charlie had a reputation for never missing a day’s work—except the day after payday when he was too hung over to drive.

In 1868, Charlie registered to vote, he told friends so he could vote for Ulysses S. Grant.

When Charlie Parkhurst died at the age of 67, the mortician that tended his body was in for a shock. Charlie was actually “Charlotte” an orphan girl who escaped her life by hiding as a man.

When Charlie voted in the 1868 presidential election some believe she was the first woman in the U.S to cast a vote.

For years, people who have visited Wolf Creek claim to have seen the ghost of a rough dressed man on the main floor at the inn. This ghost’s voice has been picked up on EVPs. Many believe this is One-Eyed Charlie.

But the facts point to another conclusion. Charlie died four years before the Wolf Creek Tavern opened. So it is unlikely her ghost is the one seen. But this story was too good to pass up.

This inn is owned by the state of Oregon and is on the National Register of Historic Places.

Thursday, September 1, 2016

The Stolen Ghost

Ye Olde Man and Scythe
I wrote about the Ye Olde Man and Scythe pub in England being haunted in a previous post, here. Along with this story I share a compelling video of a ghost that the pub captured on video.

Last month, an article published in a local Bolton newspaper, Bolton News, caught my attention.

To be honest I am not sure whether to laugh or cry at this news . . .

A Chinese artist, Lu Pingyuan traveled all the way from Shanghai to Manchester in order to steal the decapitated ghost that haunts this Bolton pub.

It is believed this ghost is that of James Stanley—he was the Seventh Earl of Derby. Stanley was a Royalist whose family originally owned the pub—the Scythe is the 4th oldest pub in Britain.
Video is on my original post.
The Earl is thought to have spent his last few hours in the inn before he was taken out and executed—he was beheaded in 1651 near the end of the Civil War.

The chair where the Earl sat before his death is still in the pub.

Pingyuan upon seeing a video of the Earl’s ghost in 2014 decided he must capture it. He followed the ghost into the Scythe’s restroom and then performed “an incantation” to trap it in a bottle.

Recently, Pingyuan has had this ghost on display in a traveling exhibition. When Richard Greenwood, the pub’s owner found out this exhibition was on display at the Centre for Chinese Contemporary Art in Manchester he wrote Pingyuan a letter.

Greewood expressed he wished he had known about Pingyuan’s intention before he removed the ghost. He feels this removal has unbalanced the natural order of things and he misses this spirit.

Greenwood also states he would have allowed the ghost of Stanley to be exhibited—for the world to see—but that he would have insisted the ghost be returned to its home at the pub after this.

This article did not mention if Greenwood has received a response.

Friday, August 19, 2016

Killed for Revenge

This story is an old legend that is told in Maine.

Major Thomas Means fought bravely during the Revolutionary War. He was at Valley Forge with General Washington and served under “Mad” Anthony Wayne at the battle of Stony Point.

He returned home to North Yarmouth, Maine in 1779 having reached the rank of Major. Years before, in 1756, he had lost his father and other family members when the Micmac Indians attacked the settlement.

The Means farm was a half-mile from the settlement’s fort. When news of a pending Indian attack was spread most of the community took refuge at this blockade. The Means family decided to wait until the next morning --they were attacked before they could leave their farm.

Thomas’ father Thomas Sr. was killed instantly his mother was wounded. Months later she gave birth to a baby who was named after his dead father. Thomas Jr. at the age of 18 joined the army as a private. As mentioned, he fought bravely alongside the other Colonial forces.

In 1807, now a respected gentleman, his peers still called him Major, Thomas bought a home once owned by the town’s minister. Situated on Main Street he opened it as a tavern.
Yarmouth Harbor
One evening Means and his patrons watched as a tall older Indian entered his establishment. This man ordered rum. As Thomas served him this man bragged about being a member of a war party that years before had massacred a family that lived near the fort.

As Thomas served him several glasses of liquor the Indian talked more. It dawned on Thomas and his patrons that this was the man who killed his father. Once the Indian was drunk Thomas escorted him to a small guest room above the tavern known as the “monitor room.”

None of the townsfolk saw this Indian again. Shortly afterwards, Thomas began to be awakened by “flashing lights and uncanny sounds” coming from the monitor room.

He then began to see the figure of the Indian moving back and forth across this small room. This activity was relentless especially during storms.

These sightings continued for years and almost drove the Major crazy. On his deathbed in 1828, Thomas confessed to his son that he had killed the Indian with a hatchet. Seeking revenge he had scalped the man as well.

Means confession did not settle down this activity. The small monitor room continued to be haunted for 50 years after his death.

It wasn’t until the late 1970s after the new owners of the tavern renovated the upstairs that this troubled ghost finally settled down.

Wednesday, August 10, 2016

Ohio’s Engine House No. 16

Engine No. 16
This fire station located on North Fourth Street first opened in 1908 in downtown Columbus, Ohio. At first, a horse drawn wagon was used then later a more modern fire engine.

While in use, Engine No. 16 was a favorite gathering place for all the area firemen. It was used for 70 plus years. When it closed in 1981 its rich past made it an ideal place for a museum about Columbus’ firefighting history.

Today the Central Ohio Fire Museum is a favorite destination for Columbus’ school children. They learn about firefighting and fire safety.

Central Ohio Fire Museum
One item that is not talked about is the firehouses’ resident ghost.

Most of the museum staff believes that a beloved ghost haunts Engine No. 16.


This ghost is Capt. George Dukeman—known more affectionately by his men as Captain D. He supervised the firehouse for many years. It is said he loved it so much he rarely went home.

He was known to make nightly rounds checking on his men and making sure everything was in its proper place in the firehouse.

No one in recent years has seen Captain D’s ghost but his presence is often felt. It is believed that he returns often to “check on everything.”

Doors open and close on their own—they often close one after another as if someone is walking through the house.

Lights that are left on are found turned off and even stranger if someone forgets to turn on a light within seconds that light turns on without assistance.

It appears a children’s display at the back of the museum is one of Captain D’s favorite spots. This display shows the dangers of fire. Cloth flames spring to life at the touch of a button.

These flames turn on inexplicably several times each day.

Another ghost that haunts the building is a horse. In the area that once housed the stations’ stable snorting and other strange sounds are often heard.

Engine House No. 16 is on the National Register of Historic Places.

Friday, July 15, 2016

The Teeter House

In the oldest section of Phoenix, Arizona sits Heritage Square. In the mid 1860s the first Anglo settlement was established in this area.

Heritage Square
In this square is a collection of homes that give the visitor a glimpse of what Phoenix was like as a small town at the turn of the 20th century.

One of these homes is the Teeter House. Today this building is used as a restaurant/ teahouse were visitors listen to jazz music under the stars on its patio.

Teeter House
The house also has a charming gift shop were the visitor can browse a variety of teakettles.

One can also find one of the original owners of this home.

Leon Bouvier, a cattleman and flour miller, built the Teeter House in 1899, He used it as a boarding house.

In 1911, Eliza Teeter bought the home and continued to run it as a boarding house. In 1919, she closed this business down and moved into the 3-bedroom home herself.

She lived here until her death in 1965. Many believe she never left her beloved home.

Visitors report hearing his or her name called softly when no one is around. Others report objects moving by themselves.

A notable incident was when an entire roll of paper towel in the bathroom unrolled onto the floor when no one was in the building.

Another hot spot in the home is the kitchen. Staff reports include pots and pans flying off shelves. One cook saw a woman walk through the restaurant and then just disappear into nowhere.

Yet another cook heard her named called when she was alone in the building.

A group of patrons saw a shelf in the dinning room dislodge and fly across the room.

The owner lost her keys one day only to find them later mysteriously under the kitchen sink.

This activity is ongoing and everyone agrees it is most likely the ghost of Eliza Teeter just trying to get everyone’s attention.

Saturday, July 9, 2016

Bob Hoskins’ Luck

Bob Hoskins
The deceased English actor Bob Hoskins believed a ghost he encountered as a teen brought him good luck in his life.

At the age of 15 Hoskins left school—where beatings were the norm—his teachers tied his left hand to a chair to try and force him to write with his right hand.

He worked at Covent Garden as a porter in the late 1950s. This area, located in central London, was used up until the late 1960s as a thriving fruit and vegetable market. With traffic congestion this market was moved in 1974 to an area 3 miles southwest of Covent Garden.

Porter in Covent Garden
Hoskins worked in a shop where the fuses often blew. He would go down in the basement to fix them.

On two occasions he encountered what he describes as a beautiful female ghost.

The first time he encountered her, he was frightened but he could not help but notice her lovely face and hands.

The second time he encountered her she was a mere two feet away from him. He rushed upstairs to tell the owner of the shop what he had seen. His boss, an older man, was not surprised.

He told the excited teen, “Oh, you’ve seen one of the nuns.” He went on to explain that where the shop stood was once a convent.

Starting in 1200 part of Covent Garden was walled off for Westminster Abby. At that time it was known as “the Garden of the Abby and Convent.”

His boss then told Hoskins he was in luck for according to a local superstition everyone who saw one of these nuns had “a lucky life.”


Later, Hoskins became famous in America for playing opposite animated characters in the film, Who Framed Roger Rabbit? He told a reporter for Spin magazine in 1989 that his life had indeed been lucky.

Thursday, July 7, 2016

A Good Reason

Ghosts often return to resolve unfinished business. The following account I read several years ago in an old newspaper article. It told the story of a deceased coal miner who returned as a ghost for a good reason.

This story took place in the 1920s. A coal mine located on the West Virginia border experienced an explosion. Several men were killed, a few lucky ones survived.

All the bodies of the dead were recovered except one. This body belonged to a miner by the name of Frank Cooper.

Most mine company's at that time had an unfair policy. If the body of a miner was not found they stated they were under no obligation to compensate that miner’s family for their loss.

In this instance, it meant extra hardship for Frank Cooper’s wife and his six children. The owners of the mine went as far as to state that there was no proof Cooper had been in the mine at the time of the explosion—even though the survivors knew he had been.

To guarantee they would not have to pay anything to his wife the owners stated that Cooper had apparently just abandoned his family.

Explosions at mines were a
common occurrence.
After the explosion, management asked for volunteers to go down into section five where the explosion occurred to clear debris and shore up the ceiling with new beams. No one wanted to do this dangerous job but finally one miner named Louis stepped forward.

Once Louie reached the deepest part of this section of the mine and began to work he heard strange noises. He turned around to see a dark figure directly behind him.

At first he thought with relief that this was another miner who had a change of heart and had come to help him. Louie noted the other man had an unusual appearance. He was gaunt and extremely pale. Where his eyes should be Louie could only make out two sunken holes.

As Louie turned back to digging away some loose debris the other man commanded he stop. “No, not there. Over here!” Louie now confused complied anyway. He took his shovel and began working in the spot the other man had indicated.

It wasn’t long before he spotted a foot sticking out of the slag, then a whole body. He turned around to show the other miner what he discovered only to find he had vanished.

That night Louis was awakened by a knock on his door. When he answered it he saw the same mysterious man from the mine standing there. Before he could say anything the strange fellow said, “Thank you. Now I can rest and my family will be cared for.”

The figure then faded away right in front of Louie.

The next morning back at work Louie was told that the body he had found the day before was Frank Cooper.

Saturday, June 18, 2016

The Dead Guy

Ghosts come in all shapes and sizes. Some emit positive energy others more negative. I am drawn to stories about darker energies. This might be because these stories are more rare.

Dr. Rita Louise in her book entitled, Dark Angels talks about various, angels, entities and ghosts she has encountered in her life.

One such encounter happened while she was still a child. Her family of 10, including seven siblings at one time lived in an old Victorian house built in 1898.

This drafty house had four floors including a basement. This was the one space in the house that Louise was always uncomfortable in.

The family all agreed that a ghost resided in the basement. They dubbed this dark energy the “dead guy.” But other than naming it, they never talked about it.

Louise, frightened avoided going down into the basement. But the family’s extra refrigerator and freezer were kept in this dark dusty room so if she happened to be in the kitchen when her mother was preparing a family meal she often was the one volunteered by her older siblings to go down and fetch a needed item.

The author recounts her mad dashes to turn on lights and rush around corners to retrieve the needed item and then her race back upstairs to get through the basement door before it slammed shut.

Unfortunately, this door often mysteriously locked behind her, leaving her in the basement for extra minutes as she pounded on it to escape to the safety of the kitchen.

Then there was the dreaded evil laugh she would hear behind her as she tried to pry the door open. This scary scenario played over and over each time she was sent to the basement.

What amazed her was her mother was the only one in the family that the dead guy never seemed to faze. She would spend hours in the basement doing laundry. Louise would see the dead guy standing near where her mother hung the clothes to dry—but her mother appeared to be able to ignore his presence.

Years later, at a family reunion the siblings finally openly talked about their own encounters with this ghost. They all agreed he lurked near where their mother always hung the clothes. Even more telling was their descriptions of what he looked like. They matched.

Wednesday, June 8, 2016

A Glimpse of Lace Trim

Lace made at Broadlands
In 1827, Nunn's Lace Factory * was opened on the Isle of Wight. The factory was placed in Staples, Newport, a remote location, to keep its machinery that made fine French Blonde lace from prying eyes.

Pink silk lace dress
Queen Victoria wore
This factory located in what is Broadlands House today was one of the largest employers on the Island. The factory made a profit for some years. Queen Victoria and other ladies of the court were among its customers.

The lace it produced was as fine as a spider web and expensive but when tastes in fashion changed the factory lost business. By 1870, William Henry Nunn retired and having no son to leave the factory to, the business closed.

This left 200 men, women, boys and girls without a means of support.

In 1880 the old factory was used by a charitable establishment for 40 “poor spinsters and widow ladies who had fallen on hard times.” This charity also trained young working class girls as servants to be placed in positions around Newport.

Tragically one of these girls was killed at Broadlands in a fire in January of 1904. Alice Barton was 14 years old when she was left alone in the matron’s sitting room. She stood on a fender near the fireplace to reach some papers when an ember from the fire dropped on her dress.

The fabric on her dress quickly ignited. Alice suffered severe burns and she died.

The charity closed in the 1930s and in 1949 Broadlands was bought by England’s Ministry of Labour.

Broadlands House today.
Ghosts do not always appear at opportune times. Linzi Mathews would agree with this statement. In 1982, Linzi worked for the Department of Health and Social Security at Broadlands House.

One afternoon as she sat on the toilet in the first floor ladies room she saw a foot appear at the bottom of the door. But the door that enclosed her stall went all the way to the floor. It was if someone was walking right through it.

The small foot was wearing an old-fashioned shoe, pointed, grey in color and decorated with buttons. Above the shoe she could see a lace-trimmed petticoat.

She sat frozen too scared to open the door and see what was on the other side. Seconds later, she watched as the shoe vanished. Gathering her wits she opened the door but no one else was in the room despite the fact she still felt a presence.

When Linzi mentioned this encounter to her coworkers she was told that the Broadlands ghost had been seen, heard and even smelled over the years.

A strong odor of toast often accompanied appearances by this ghost. Staff members told her they often heard footsteps in the upper empty rooms late in the afternoon.

Knocking sounds and furniture being moved about was also heard on the top landing of the Broadlands House.

So who was the ghost that Linzi saw? Some feel it was Alice Barton who died in the fire, or maybe it was another distressed young women fallen on hard times that stayed at the house.

Linzi still wonders if the lace trim she saw was made at Broadlands when it was the 1800s Isle of Wight lace factory.


Traverse warp
* J. Brown and George Freeman invented the lace making machinery—known as a traverse warp, they agreed to take a banker’s son—W. H. Nunn on as a partner with his father’s support who was a Nottingham banker.